Member Contributed Image :
Whether you came using CrystalCoastWoodworkers.com or Carolina-Woodworkers.com, the good news is you're HERE!
Associate Links/Search
Share this topic!!! Share

Author Topic: pecan  (Read 148 times)

Offline drewactual

• Administrator
  • total expert w/this thing; total novice with wood.
pecan
« on: February 16, 2020, 02:25:52 AM »
Just for discussion, though i can get a picture if anyone demands it...

going through scraps in the shop and some larger pieces too small to do anything real with, but too big to toss.... y'all know what comes next, right? Time to produce some cutting boards... i'm not good enough to do anything with them but make gifts, perhaps...

I was given two pieces Pecan sometime back. (thanks dave!!!)  I have several sticks of white ash... several sticks of Sapele.. and various other, but for this let's talk about those?

first off- pecan is second only to (true) Hickory in hardness for (American) domestic woods. Weird about it, it is light- lighter than oaks and maples. Honestly, the only use i'e had for pecan other than collecting it's fruits, is for smoking red meat. it does a great job with that as a trailing burn- meaning low and slow, smoke with hickory up front and then run the pecan for a good amount of heat with a small fire, but with a delicate smoke that tames down the hickory especially if the hickory was even slightly uncured... anyway, this place ain't about that...

Pecan is really light for it's strength.. really light- and, it's super stout- stouter than any of the oaks or maples- again only beat out by true Hickory, and not by much.. i think they're in the same family, actually.